Going Unity with Ubuntu 11.10

Last Friday I’ve decide not only to make bold switch to Ubuntu 11.10, but also to stick to Unity desktop afterwards.

With past version I wasn’t big proponent of Unity. Partly because all the controversly around it not being 100% FLOSS project. And partly I’ve really enjoyed Gnome 2 as my primary window environment.

As in my opinion Ubuntu it the best Linux distro for laptop, and Unity is here to stay with Gnome 3 moving in the same direction, after giving it second thought, probably this move was only a matter of time.

As I want to have sometime before 12.04 LTS, now is perfect time to check what is Mark’s vision for perfect Linux desktop. Wish me luck!

ps. Below you will find some links which helped me a lot during my first days with Unity:

This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Unity with Ubuntu 11.10

  1. seb says:

    Does anyone know how I can say no to Unity? I would really like to sign some petition or something.

    • qva5on3 says:

      Personally I am not aware of any.

      But with latest Ubuntu 10.10 there is possibility to use lightweight Unity 2D, but I am assuming it is not what you are looking for. Therefore If I were you I would take a look a variety of Ubuntu based distribution like Xubuntu, Kubuntu or latest Linux Minut. Each of them offer different desktop manager. All depending what you are looking for.

Leave a Reply

