Podcasts

As every self-respect geek I’m trying to be up-to-date will technology news. Checking number of various sites each day is a tremendous work and something I cannot imagine doing. Therefore I appreciate RSS (Really Simple Sindication) feed till the first time I’ve learnt about it. RSS is an invention that change my way of consuming media.

However even with RSS I’ve come to the point when professional and private matters take some much of my time, that it would be very often impossible for me to sit down and skim through several different feeds.

Few years ago, I’ve learnt about something new. This is called podcasting and this was evolutionary step for me. Suddenly I wasn’t limited only to my desk or to me laptop to read the news. I could take my mp3 player and listen to some interesting shown while driving to/from work, waiting in a queue or working out on a gym.

At the begining the list of shows has been very limited. There was famous TWIT, Security Now and Insomnia Radio. Of course there were few other, but for some reason they haven’t caught my mind for longer period, so I think it’s not worthy mentioning them.

My daily commute takes about 1 hour. It just enough to listen to whole episode of most shows. I am also trying, to spend 2-3 hours on a gym each week. If I add also one hour for house chores it seems that each week gives me 8 hours, during which I can listen to my favourite shows. Keeping this in mind I’ve created a list of my weekly podcasts.

  • this WEEK in TECH

    Your first podcast of the week is the last word in tech. Join Leo Laporte, John C. Dvorak, Patrick Norton, and other tech luminaries in a roundtable discussion of the latest trends in high tech. Winner of “Best Video Podcast” in the 2009 People’s Choice Podcast Awards. Released every Sunday at midnight Pacific. Bandwidth is provided by AOL Music, Spinner.com, and Cachefly.

  • The Command Line Podcast

    I’ve been blogging my thoughts and findings for a while now at this site, The Command Line. Almost five years ago I started a regular podcast discussing not only these issues, but episodes and aspects of the practice and profession of programming, as well. Not to mention any other stories or ideas related to technology that I find equally fascinating.

  • FLOSS Weekly

    We’re not talking dentistry here; FLOSS all about Free Libre Open Source Software. Join hosts Randal Schwartz and Leo Laporte every Saturday as they talk with the most interesting and important people in the Open Source and Free Software community.

  • Linux Outlaws

    Linux Outlaws is a podcast about Linux and free and open source software. We are normal users like yourself rather than part of the in-crowd of community leaders and hardcore kernel hackers. On the show, we talk about interesting news and developments and stuff that we come across in our daily usage of Linux, often with a serious attitude and a humorous angle (the podcast has been described as being “very laid-back” by listeners and reviewers alike). We don’t claim to be gurus or experts on anything, but we’re trying very hard to provide you with a good time and interesting information.

  • Security Now

    TechTV’s Leo Laporte and I take 30 to 90 minutes near the end of each week to discuss important issues of personal computer security. Sometimes we’ll discuss something that just happened. Sometimes we’ll talk about long-standing problems, concerns, or solutions. Either way, every week we endeavor to produce something interesting and important for every personal computer user.

  • The Software Freedom Law Show

    We provide legal representation and other law-related services to protect and advance Free, Libre and Open Source Software (FLOSS). Founded in 2005, the Center now represents many of the most important and well-established free software and open source projects.

Please be advised that I’ve deliberately decided not to set any order for those shows. It’s just a list of casts which by default are copied to my mp3 player. Without them I cannot imagine staying in touch with free software, technology or security.

For those nearly five years, podcasts have been valuable source of entertainment, news and facts. Each year new shows come and go, but few of them managed to stay for longer time and became I important part of my digital life.

If you think you know other podcast (oggcast) which should become part of my weekly feed, please add a comment. Feel more than welcome to share you thoughts. I will always appreciate any hints about interesting shows.

This entry was posted in blog, floss, linux, podcast, security, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

